Five Hallard Press Medalists

And The Winners Are

Wow! We’re back from FAPAcon 2022, the annual conference of the Florida Authors and Publishers Association.

Five of our authors won medals.

And our brains are overflowing.

Held in Orlando, we learned more about topics such as podcasting, author blogs, social media, book covers, and marketing. John gave a presentation on page design and fonts. The keynote speaker was Craig Pittman, an award-winning environmental reporter who kept everyone engaged with his incredible stories.

John and Nancy at FAPA vendor table
Nancy and John at the Hallard Press Table

A number of sponsors, including Hallard Press, had tables promoting their services and products that would be of interest to publishers and authors.

There was no lack of networking. The Friday evening event on The Verandah brought attendees together for drinks, snacks, and lively conversations. Informal get-togethers and conversations over meals and drinks at the Book Awards Reception saw old friends and new acquaintances making deals, getting help, and setting up future get-togethers.

The high point of the two-day event was the presentation of medals at the President’s Book Awards Celebration on Saturday evening. Outgoing FAPA president Renee Garrison and incoming president Robert Jacob handled the presentations.

Five Hallard Press authors won medals in five of the 30 categories. Congratulations to each of you:

Ann Marie Acacio with book
Ann Marie Acacio

Ann Marie Acacio—Religion/Spirituality
Rise and Shine: Reclaiming Our Rightful Place

Barbara Rein with Bronze
Barbara Rein

Barbara Rein—Adult Fiction: Thriller/Horror: BRONZE
Tales from the Eerie Canal: 22 Stories of the Delightfully Dark & Creepy

John Prince with Silver medal
John Prince

John Prince—Adult Fiction: Anthology/Collection: SILVER
Wraiths in the Cloisters: Nine Dark Tales for Sunny Days

Margaret Edwards
Margaret Edwards

Margaret Edwards—Autobiography/Biography/Memoir
Slue Foot: A Black Girl Grows Up in Midwest America

Marsha Shearer with book
Marsha Shearer

Marsha Shearer—Political/Current Events: GOLD
America in Crisis: Essays on the Failed Presidency of Donald J. Trump

Click the link to access any of the winning books on Amazon.

Books from several countries were entered in the competition and included winners across the US as well as from Canada and Ireland.

The next FAPA Presidents Book Award opens for submissions in mid-September. We’ll keep you informed.

12 thoughts on “And The Winners Are”

  1. Congratulatioins, John, to you and to your fellow winners at Hallard Press who won prizes at the recent FAPAcon book awards show!

  2. Congratulations to all the winners. It should be just as easy or easier for Ms. Shearer to write another book titled
    “The Failed Presidency of Joseph R. Biden, Jr.”.
    Nice photo of Nancy and John at the table. Whoever said “Do something you like and you’ll never work a day in your life”,
    was right- on looking at a these two.

  3. Ann Marie Acacio

    Many thanks for all the Kudos! It is certainly a thrill to have my first book acknowledged and is a motivator to keep on writing.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content